• 32nd Annual Joint Insurance Seminar

    April 24th, 2018
    8:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
    The Hamilton Convention Centre     
    (1 Summers Lane Hamilton)

    Read more

  • Family Law Seminar

    April 5th, 2018
    1:00 p.m. - 4:30 p.m.
    Hamilton Convention Centre | Webster A & B 
    (1 Summers Lane, Hamilton)

    Read more

  • HLA Annual Dinner

    April 19th, 2018
    5:30 p.m. Cocktails | 6:30p.m. Dinner
    The Art Gallery of Hamilton
    (123 King Street West, Hamilton)

    Read more

  • Looking for a Lawyer in Hamilton?

    Search our Membership Directory by:
    First & Last Name
    Area of Law
    LSUC Certified Specialist
    Language other than English

    Read more

  • Looking for a legal job in Hamilton?

    Search our Careers Page for:
    Jobs for Lawyers & Support Staff
    Seeking jobs for Lawyers & Support Staff
    Seeking jobs for Articling & Summer Students
    Seeking Volunteer Positions

    Read more

Collections & Library Excellence Subcommittee


Kathleen Bingham,


YAMASHITA Colleen 2017 

Colleen Yamashita,


Collections & Library Excellence Subcommittee Mandate

The HLA's Collections and Library Excellence Subcommittee provides guidance to the HLA’s Executive Director, Law Librarian, and library staff with regard to policy and budget decisions concerning the HLA library and its collection, covering the following matters:

1. purchasing and maintaining library resource materials;

2. improvement, expansion, and promotion of library services and resources; and

3. advancing the HLA’s mission “To enable its members to become successful, respected and fulfilled in their profession.”

 2017-2018 Subcommittee Members

Kathleen Bingham, Bingham Law 
(905)-297-4767 kathleen@binghamlaw.ca 
Colleen Yamashita, Scarfone Hawkins LLP (905)-523-1333 cyamashita@shlaw.ca
Maxine Birdsell, Mackesy ,Smye LLP (905)-525-2341 birdsell@mackesysmye.com
Laura Dickson, Michael Lamont Personal Injury Law (905)-526-6668 laura.dickson@lamontlaw.ca 
Lauren GrimaldiScarfone Hawkins LLP (905)-523-1333 lgrimaldi@shlaw.ca
Carolyn Hart, Hart Law (416)-809-4278 carolyn@hartlaw.ca 
Gary KuzykScarfone Hawkins LLP (905)-523-1333 gkuzyk@shlaw.ca
Sarah Lawson (289)-230-0241 sarah@sarahlawson.ca
Catherine Roberts, Roberts Law (905)-627-3500 Catherine.Roberts@Robert-Law.ca
Sharon White, Inch Hammond Professional Corporation (905)-525-4481 white@inchlaw.com

To speak to an HLA staff person regarding the CPD Committee, please contact:
Laura Richmond, Law Librarian
tel: 905-522-1563, email: lrichmond@hamiltonlaw.on.ca

Recent HLA Journal Articles

FileTypeSizeUploaded onDownload
Librarian's Report - February 2018 PDF1.48 MB31 Jan, 2018 Download
Librarian's Report - December 2017 PDF1.93 MB31 Jan, 2018 Download
Librarian's Report - October 2017 PDF1.05 MB31 Jan, 2018 Download
Librarian's Report - August 2017 PDF1.60 MB31 Jan, 2018 Download
Librarian's Report - June 2017 PDF1.25 MB31 Jan, 2018 Download
Librarian's Report - April 2017 PDF1.18 MB31 Jan, 2018 Download
Librarian's Report - February 2017 PDF1.37 MB31 Jan, 2018 Download

Resources and Links

Advocat - HLA Library - Catalogue 

HLA library enhancements infographic