• 17th Annual Advocacy Conference

    November 30th, 2017
    8:00 a.m. - 3:30 p.m.
    Hamilton Convention Centre
    (1 Summers Lane, Hamilton)

    Read more

  • Emerging Issues in Real Estate Seminar

    November 2nd, 2017
    9:00 a.m. - 1:15 p.m.
    Sheraton Hamilton Hotel | Grand Ballroom
    (116 King Street West, Hamilton)

    Read more

  • Employment Law Seminar

    November 16th, 2017
    2;00 p.m. - 4:45 p.m.
    7th Floor Jurors' Lounge | John Sopinka Courthouse
    (45 Main Street East, Hamilton)

    Read more

  • Looking for a Lawyer in Hamilton?

    Search our Membership Directory by:
    First & Last Name
    Area of Law
    LSUC Certified Specialist
    Language other than English

    Read more

  • Looking for a legal job in Hamilton?

    Search our Careers Page for:
    Jobs for Lawyers & Support Staff
    Seeking jobs for Lawyers & Support Staff
    Seeking jobs for Articling & Summer Students
    Seeking Volunteer Positions

    Read more

Continuing Professional Development Committee

 

Andrew Confente
Chair

 

Andrew Keesmaat
Vice-Chair

The Continuing Professional Development Committee consists of a Chair and Vice-Chair appointed by the President and six to seven members, six of whom should practice primarily in the respective areas of Real Estate, Wills and Trusts, Corporate Law, Civil Litigation, Criminal Law and Family Law, and at least one of whom shall have practised not more than five years.



CONTINUING PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE MANDATE

  1. To develop Continuing Professional Development programmes, conferences and events for the Association;
  2. To assess and interpret the needs and expectations of Association members regarding Continuing Professional Development;
  3. To assess, revise, add and/or delete, as necessary, existing Continuing Professional Development programmes; 
  4. To manage, develop and coordinate Continuing Professional Development activities with other groups offering same such as the Law Society of Upper Canada, and the Canadian Bar Association.

 2017- 2018 Committee Members

COMMITTEE MEMBER PHONE EMAIL
Shayna Beeksma, ESB Lawyers 905-523-5666 sbeeksma@esblawyers.com
Ian Brisbin, Mackesy Smye LLP 905-525-2341 brisbin@mackesysmye.com
Andrew ConfenteConfente, Garcea 905-529-9999 aconfente@confentegarcea.com
Jeffrey Goit, Agro Zaffiro LLP 905-527-6877 jgoit@agrozaffiro.com
Wesley Jamieson, Ross & McBride LLP  905-572-5806 wjamieson@rossmcbride.com  
Matthew Johnstone, Sullivan, Festeryga LLP 905-528-7963 mjohnstone@sfllp.ca
Andrew Keesmaat, Agro Zaffiro LLP 905-527-6877  akeesmaat@agrozaffiro.com
Annie Law, Hamilton Community Legal Clinic 905-527-4572  lawas@lao.on.ca
Stephen Sloan, Flaherty, Sloan, Hatfield 905-522-9994 sloan@flashlaw.ca
Michael Stanton, Scarfone Hawkins LLP 905-523-1333 mstanton@shlaw.ca
Freda Vanopoulos, Virk Personal Injury Law 905-521-8888 Freda@virklawyers.com 
Barry Yellin, Ross & McBride LLP 905-572-5823 byellin@rossmcbride.com

To speak to an HLA staff person regarding the CPD Committee, please contact:

, Event Coordinator
tel: 905-522-1563, email:

LSUC CPD Requirement

The HLA Continuing Professional Development Committee has provided the following information sheet to assist you in navigating the new CPD requirements introduced by the Law Society of Upper Canada on January 1st, 2011, and amended May 30th, 2013 and October 1st, 2014.

Download  HLA CPD Information Sheet

LSUC Resources: