• 17th Annual Advocacy Conference

    November 30th, 2017
    8:00 a.m. - 3:30 p.m.
    Hamilton Convention Centre
    (1 Summers Lane, Hamilton)

    Read more

  • New Lawyers' Seminar

    September 7th, 2017
    10:00 a.m. - 4:45 p.m.
    Anthony Pepe Memorial Library
    45 Main Street East, Suite 500

    Read more

  • Income War Tax Act, 100th Anniversary Lunch

    September 20th, 2017
    12:00p.m. - 2:00 p.m.
    John Sopinka Courthouse | Lawyers' Lounge
    (45 Main Street East, Hamilton, Suite 500)

    Read more

  • Emerging Issues in Real Estate Seminar

    November 2nd, 2017
    9:00 a.m. - 1:15 p.m.
    Sheraton Hamilton Hotel | Grand Ballroom
    (116 King Street West, Hamilton)

    Read more

  • Corporate Commercial Seminar

    October 12th, 2017
    9:00 a.m. - 1:30 p.m
    Sheraton Hamilton Hotel | Centre/East Ballroom
    (116 King Street West, Hamilton)

    Read more

  • Looking for a Lawyer in Hamilton?

    Search our Membership Directory by:
    First & Last Name
    Area of Law
    LSUC Certified Specialist
    Language other than English

    Read more

  • Looking for a legal job in Hamilton?

    Search our Careers Page for:
    Jobs for Lawyers & Support Staff
    Seeking jobs for Lawyers & Support Staff
    Seeking jobs for Articling & Summer Students
    Seeking Volunteer Positions

    Read more

Continuing Professional Development Committee

 

Andrew Confente
Chair

 

Andrew Keesmaat
Vice-Chair

The Continuing Professional Development Committee consists of a Chair and Vice-Chair appointed by the President and six to seven members, six of whom should practice primarily in the respective areas of Real Estate, Wills and Trusts, Corporate Law, Civil Litigation, Criminal Law and Family Law, and at least one of whom shall have practised not more than five years.



CONTINUING PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE MANDATE

  1. To develop Continuing Professional Development programmes, conferences and events for the Association;
  2. To assess and interpret the needs and expectations of Association members regarding Continuing Professional Development;
  3. To assess, revise, add and/or delete, as necessary, existing Continuing Professional Development programmes; 
  4. To manage, develop and coordinate Continuing Professional Development activities with other groups offering same such as the Law Society of Upper Canada, and the Canadian Bar Association.

 2016-17 Committee Members

COMMITTEE MEMBER PHONE EMAIL
Shayna Beeksma, ESB Lawyers 905-523-5666 sbeeksma@esblawyers.com
Ian Brisbin, Mackesy Smye LLP 905-525-2341 brisbin@mackesysmye.com
Andrew ConfenteConfente, Garcea 905-529-9999 aconfente@confentegarcea.com
Christopher Deeley, Camporese Sullivan Di Gregorio Associates - Lawyers 905-522-7068 cdeeley@csdlawyers.ca
Mary Grosso, Hooper Law Offices 905-522-8002 mgrosso@hooperlaw.ca
Wesley Jamieson, Ross & McBride LLP  905-572-5806 wjamieson@rossmcbride.com  
Matthew Johnstone, Sullivan, Festeryga LLP  905-528-7963 mjohnstone@sfllp.ca
Andrew Keesmaat, Agro Zaffiro LLP 905-527-6877  akeesmaat@agrozaffiro.com
Annie Law, Hamilton Community Legal Clinic 905-527-4572  lawas@lao.on.ca
Pamela Quesnel, Evans, Philp LLP 905-525-1200  pquesnel@evansphilp.com 
Stephen Sloan, Flaherty, Sloan, Hatfield 905-522-9994 sloan@flashlaw.ca
Michael Stanton, Scarfone Hawkins LLP 905-523-1333 mstanton@shlaw.ca
Freda Vanopoulos, Virk Personal Injury Law 905-521-8888 Freda@virklawyers.com 

To speak to an HLA staff person regarding the CPD Committee, please contact:

Mackenzie Faus, Manager of Events
tel: 905-522-1563, email: mfaus@hamiltonlaw.on.ca

LSUC CPD Requirement

The HLA Continuing Professional Development Committee has provided the following information sheet to assist you in navigating the new CPD requirements introduced by the Law Society of Upper Canada on January 1st, 2011, and amended May 30th, 2013 and October 1st, 2014.

Download  HLA CPD Information Sheet

LSUC Resources: