• 17th Annual Advocacy Conference

    November 30th, 2017
    8:00 a.m. - 3:30 p.m.
    Hamilton Convention Centre
    (1 Summers Lane, Hamilton)

    Read more

  • Emerging Issues in Real Estate Seminar

    November 2nd, 2017
    9:00 a.m. - 1:15 p.m.
    Sheraton Hamilton Hotel | Grand Ballroom
    (116 King Street West, Hamilton)

    Read more

  • Employment Law Seminar

    November 16th, 2017
    2;00 p.m. - 4:45 p.m.
    7th Floor Jurors' Lounge | John Sopinka Courthouse
    (45 Main Street East, Hamilton)

    Read more

  • Looking for a Lawyer in Hamilton?

    Search our Membership Directory by:
    First & Last Name
    Area of Law
    LSUC Certified Specialist
    Language other than English

    Read more

  • Looking for a legal job in Hamilton?

    Search our Careers Page for:
    Jobs for Lawyers & Support Staff
    Seeking jobs for Lawyers & Support Staff
    Seeking jobs for Articling & Summer Students
    Seeking Volunteer Positions

    Read more

Corporate Commercial Subcommittee



Michael McHugh, Co-Chair



Hussein Hamdani, Co-Chair

CORPORATE COMMERCIAL SUBCOMMITTEE MANDATE

The HLA's Corporate Commercial Subcommittee exists to advise on matters pertaining to Corporate Commercial Law that are relevant to the HLA Board or Committees, and Hamilton area Corporate Commercial lawyers.

  1. To provide a forum for discussion of topics of interest to members of the corporate and commercial bar.
  2. To organize and promote CPD topics of interest to the members of the corporate and commercial bar.
  3. To advocate on matters of interest to members of the corporate and commercial bar.
  4. To develop ways to interact with other practice areas of the local bar and related professionals.

2017-2018 Committee Members

Looking for an opinion or guidance on a corporate commercial matter? The following members of the HLA Corporate Commercial Subcommittee are available by phone or email.

COMMITTEE MEMBER PHONE EMAIL
Michele Ballagh, Ballagh & Edward LLP
905-572-9300 michele.ballagh@ballaghedward.ca
Hassan Chaudhary, Ross & McBride LLP 905-526-9800 hchaudhary@rossmcbride.com
Kelly Fawcett, Inch Hammond Professional Corporation 905-525-4481 fawcett@inchlaw.com
Nicholas N. Fur 905-332-0303 nnfur3@cogeco.ca
Hussein A. Hamdani, SimpsonWigle LAW LLP
905-528-8411 x.336 hussein@simpsonwigle.com
John F. C. Hammond, Inch Hammond Professional Corporation
905-525-4481 hammond@inchlaw.com
Daniel Lawlor, Weisz, Rocchi & Scholes 905-523-1842 dlawlor@wrs.on.ca
Dana-Elisabeta Lezau, Legal Services Division, City of Hamilton 905-546-2424 Dana.Lezau@Hamilton.ca
John Loukidelis, Loukidelis Professional Corporation 289-799-9509 john@jltax.ca
Michael J. McHugh, McHugh Whitmore LLP  905-549-4676 mchugh@mmwimlawfirm.ca
David Mifsud, George Street Law Group LLP 905-526-2101 dmifsud@georgestreetlaw.ca
Andrew D. Pringle, Wynne, Pringle, Jeske & Kovacs
905-648-1851 x327 apringle@anclaw.com
Thomas J. Rocchi, Weisz, Rocchi & Scholes
905-523-1842 tjrocchi@wrs.on.ca
Alex Ross, Gowling WLG 905-540-3243 alex.ross@gowlings.com
Charles Sherman, ESB Lawyers LLP 905-523-5666 csherman@esblawyers.com
Ryan Smith, Feltmate Delibato Heagle LLP
905-287-2215 rsmith@fdhlawyers.com
Pam Vermeersch, Gowling WLG
905-540-3247 pam.vermeersch@gowlings.com

The Subcommittee meets six times per year on Thursdays at 12:00 p.m. at the John Sopinka Court House - 5th Floor Boardroom. Those interested in joining the Subcommittee are invited to contact the Chair.

To speak to an HLA staff person regarding the Corporate Commercial Subcommittee, please contact:
  , Event Coordinator tel: 905-522-1563, email:

HLA Corporate Commercial Events

The Corporate Commercial Subcommittee welcomes suggestions and ideas for future seminar topics. Please contact David van der Woerd at 905-526-9800 or dvanderwoerd@rossmcbride.com

UPCOMING EVENTS & SEMINARS

PAST SEMINARS

Written materials from past HLA Corporate Commercial Law Seminars are available in PDF format, free of charge, in the HLA's Library Collection to members of the Ontario bar.  Please contact HLA Staff at 905-522-1563 to request materials.


Recent HLA Journal Articles

ARTICLES AVAILABLE FOR DOWNLOAD

ARTICLES AVAILABLE ONLINE

 

Selected Corporate Commercial Library Resources

Please click on a topic below to view a list of selected resources available in the HLA Library.
For additional resources, please consult the online catalogue at http://library.lsuc.on.ca.

  • General Titles

  • Annotated Acts

  • Precedents (Hardcopy and/or Electronic)

  • Continuing Legal Education Materials

  • Specific Titles

Additional Links and Resources

Please click on a topic below to view a list of additional links and resources.