• 5th Annual Advocacy Skills Workshop

    February 1st, 2018
    12:00 p.m. - 3:00 p.m.
    7th Floor Jurors' Lounge
    John Sopinka Courthouse
    (45 Main Street East, Hamilton)

    Read more

  • 16th Annual Estates & Trusts Seminar

    February 8th, 2018
    1:00 p.m. - 4:30 p.m.
    Sheraton Hamilton Hotel - Grand Ballroom
    (116 King Street West, Hamilton) 

    Read more

  • 13th Annual Commercial Litigation Seminar

    February 21st, 2018
    9:00 a.m. - 1:45 p.m.
    Sheraton Hamilton Hotel - East Ballroom
    (116 King Street West, Hamilton)

    Read more

  • Looking for a Lawyer in Hamilton?

    Search our Membership Directory by:
    First & Last Name
    Area of Law
    LSUC Certified Specialist
    Language other than English

    Read more

  • Looking for a legal job in Hamilton?

    Search our Careers Page for:
    Jobs for Lawyers & Support Staff
    Seeking jobs for Lawyers & Support Staff
    Seeking jobs for Articling & Summer Students
    Seeking Volunteer Positions

    Read more

Family Law Subcommittee

The Hamilton Law Association's Family Law Subcommittee advises on matters pertaining to Family Law that are relevant to the Board or its Committees.

The committee meets monthly at 12:30 p.m. at the John Sopinka Courthouse - 5th Floor Boardroom. Those interested in joining the committeee are invited to contact the Co-Chairs.

 2017-2018 Subcommittee Members

MEMBERS PHONE EMAIL
Jennifer Cooper, Hughes & Bale LLP 905-523-5252 jcooper@hughesbale.ca 
Kanata Cowan, K. Cowan Law Professional Corporation 905-528-7963 kcowan@waterdownlawyer.com
Imran Kamal, Catholic Children's Aid Society of Hamilton 905-525-2012  imran.kamal@hamiltonccas.on.ca
Amy Katz, Amy Katz & Associates, Professional Corporation 905-522-0488 amylpkatz@gmail.com
Lindsey Mazza, George Street Law Group LLP 905-526-2104 lmazza@georgestreetlaw.ca
Keith Millikan, Guyatt, Gaasenbeek & Millikin 905-528-8369 keith@ggmlaw.ca
James Mountford, Ross & McBride LLP 905-526-9800 jmountford@rossmcbride.com
Vicky Ringuette 905-297-4768 vicky@binghamringuette.ca
Whitney Smith, Vandeputte Law Professional Corporation 905-628-0101 whitney@vandeputtelawpc.ca
The Hon. David Steinberg, Ross & McBride LLP 905-526-9800 dsteinberg@rossmcbride.com
Lina Vyas, Legal Aid Ontario 905-645-6276  www.legalaid.on.ca
Michael Wilson, Wilson Family Law 905-309-7080 michael@wilsonfamilylaw.ca
James Wood,
Children's Aid Society of Hamilton
905-522-1121 jwood@hamiltoncas.com

To speak to an HLA staff person regarding the Family Law Subcommittee, please contact:
Karen Cooper, Library Technician
tel: 905-522-1563, email: kcooper@hamiltonlaw.on.ca 

HLA Family Law Events

UPCOMING EVENTS & SEMINARS

January 10
2018

 Sub:  1 hr

Family Law Lunch Bucket: Youth Criminal Records in Family Court

12:30-1:30 p.m.
Family Court, Courtroom #2
55 Main St. W., Hamilton

VIEW FLYER

For more information, contact Karen Cooper at 905-522-1563.

February 13
2018

Sub: 1 hr

Family Law Lunch Bucket: Therapeutic Reconciliation

12:30 - 1:30 p.m.
Family Court, Courtroom #2
55 Main St. W.,
Hamilton

VIEW FLYER


For more information, contact Karen Cooper at 905-522-1563.

Consolidated Provincial Practice Direction - April 1, 2016

Mar 23, 2016

The Federation of Ontario Law Associations have been advised that a change has been made to the Family Law Section of the Superior Court of Justice’s Province-Wide Practice Direction  (in Part 1, Section B). 

 As a result of that change, the Often Cited Family Law Cases will apply in all regions in the province effective April 1, 2016.  These updates will be advertised shortly in the Ontario Reports but  we would ask that you let your family law practitioners know of the changes as soon as reasonably possible.

 Thank you for your assistance

 Sonya Jain
 FOLA Family Law Committee Chair