• Annual General Meeting

    May 31st, 2018
    4:00 p.m. Meeting; 4:30 p.m. Reception
    The Hamilton Club
    (6 Main Street East, Hamilton)

    Read more

  • Women's Suffrage in Canada 100th Anniversary Celebration

    June 15th, 2018
    12:00 p.m. - 2:00 p.m.
    Lawyers' Lounge | Suite 500
    John Sopinka Courthouse
    (45 Main Street East, Hamilton)

    Read more

  • Lawyers Who Care - Erica Lamont

    Thank you to Erica Lamont, HLA New Lawyers’ Subcommittee member, for securing the most individual donations for the 2018 Lawyers Who Care charity initiative! 

    Read more

  • Looking for a Lawyer in Hamilton?

    Search our Membership Directory by:
    First & Last Name
    Area of Law
    LSUC Certified Specialist
    Language other than English

    Read more

  • Looking for a legal job in Hamilton?

    Search our Careers Page for:
    Jobs for Lawyers & Support Staff
    Seeking jobs for Lawyers & Support Staff
    Seeking jobs for Articling & Summer Students
    Seeking Volunteer Positions

    Read more

Family Law Subcommittee

The Hamilton Law Association's Family Law Subcommittee advises on matters pertaining to Family Law that are relevant to the Board or its Committees.

The committee meets monthly at 12:30 p.m. at the John Sopinka Courthouse - 5th Floor Boardroom. Those interested in joining the committeee are invited to contact the Co-Chairs.

 2017-2018 Subcommittee Members

MEMBERS PHONE EMAIL
Jennifer Cooper, Hughes & Bale LLP 905-523-5252 jcooper@hughesbale.ca 
Kanata Cowan, K. Cowan Law Professional Corporation 289-895-7777 kcowan@waterdownlawyer.com
Imran Kamal, Catholic Children's Aid Society of Hamilton 905-525-2012  imran.kamal@hamiltonccas.on.ca
Amy Katz, Amy Katz & Associates, Professional Corporation 905-522-0488 amylpkatz@gmail.com
Lindsey Mazza, George Street Law Group LLP 905-526-2104 lmazza@georgestreetlaw.ca
Keith Millikan, Guyatt, Gaasenbeek & Millikin 905-528-8369 keith@ggmlaw.ca
James Mountford, Ross & McBride LLP 905-526-9800 jmountford@rossmcbride.com
Vicky Ringuette 905-297-4768 vicky@vmringuette.ca
Whitney Smith, Vandeputte Law Professional Corporation 905-628-0101 whitney@vandeputtelawpc.ca
The Hon. David Steinberg, Ross & McBride LLP 905-526-9800 dsteinberg@rossmcbride.com
Lina Vyas, Legal Aid Ontario 905-645-6276  www.legalaid.on.ca
Michael Wilson, Wilson Family Law 905-309-7080 michael@wilsonfamilylaw.ca
James Wood,
Children's Aid Society of Hamilton
905-522-1121 jwood@hamiltoncas.com

To speak to an HLA staff person regarding the Family Law Subcommittee, please contact:
Karen Cooper, Library Technician
tel: 905-522-1563, email: kcooper@hamiltonlaw.on.ca 

HLA Family Law Events

UPCOMING EVENTS & SEMINARS

AMENDMENTS TO FAMILY LAW RULES (O. Reg. 114/99) EFFECTIVE April 23, 30 and July 1, 2018

May 10, 2018

On April 23, 2018, rule changes will come into effect to support the Ministry of the Attorney General’s e-filing service for joint divorce applications.

On April 30, 2018, multiple rule and form changes to support the new Child, Youth and Family Services Act, 2017, S.O. 2017, c. 14 (including, but not limited to, changes to rules 8, 17, 25, 33 and 34, as well as 35 court forms) will come into effect on the same date as the new legislation is proclaimed.

On July 1, 2018, the rules and timelines relating to service, filing and confirmations for conferences and motions will also change.  There are new confirmation forms for both motions and conferences.

Also on July 1, 2018, updated rules relating to costs (specifically sub-rules 17(18), 17(18.1) and 24(10) - 24(12.1)) will come into effect.

Please see the Family Law Rules, O. Reg. 114/99  and

http://ontariocourtforms.on.ca/en/family-law-rules-forms/ for details. 

Resources and Practice Aids


Notice to Profession: Changes to the Family Law Rules in force April 23, April 30 and July 1, 2018
Notice to Profession: Changes to the Family Law Rules in force April 23, April 30 and July 1, 2018
Notice to Profession: Changes to the Family Law Rules in force April 23, April 30 and July 1, 2018