ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF THE HAMILTON LAW ASSOCIATION

Wednesday, May 19, 2022 4:00 p.m.

The Hamilton Club

MINUTES

Trustees: Andrew Confente (presiding), Jennifer Cooper, Laura Dickson, David van der Woerd,

Colleen Yamashita, Eric Nanayakkara, Andrew Keesmaat, and Mary Grosso.

Members: Mark Giavedoni, Allen Wynperle, Andrew Spurgeon, Kristen Hughes, David Sherman,

Robert Hooper, Patric Mackesy, James Orme Jeffrey Goit, Andrea Hill, Taran Hoogsteen, Wesley Jamieson, Gregory Mallia, Michaela Newman, Katerina Svozilkova, Rosamund Taylor, Claire Wilkinson, Marcela Rincon, Drew Hall, Thomas Lazier, John Lewis, George Limberis, Marcel Mongeon, Peter Boushy, Anders Knudson, Derek Schmuck, Michele

Ballagh, Sean Andrade, and Valerie Edward.

Staff: Rebecca Bentham, Shega Berisha, Nicole Strandholm, Kubra Solmaz, Stephanie Zordan,

and Wendy Spearing.

Guests: Darren Salmond (Auditors – Taylor Leibow LLP)

Sponsor: Henderson Structured Settlements

1. Appointment of the Chair and Secretary of the Meeting

Andrew Confente began the meeting with a land acknowledgement. Andrew Confente called the meeting to order. Andrew Confente appointed himself as Chair, welcomed, and thanked all members and guests for their attendance to, and participation in The Hamilton Law Association's 2022 Annual General Meeting in-person at the Hamilton Club. Andrew Confente reviewed the procedures for the meeting for members in attendance.

2. Notice of Meeting

Andrew Confente was informed by Rebecca Bentham, the Executive Director of The Hamilton Law Association, that written notice was given to the members of the Association in the manner described and within the time set out in section 30 of By-Law 1-2014 which was read and approved on the 23rd day of April 2014. Andew Confente was informed that a quorum for this

annual meeting existed. Andrew Confente declared that the Notice of Meeting had been properly served and that a quorum was present.

3. Minutes of the Previous Meeting

Andrew Confente accepted the minutes of the previous annual meeting, dated May 27th, 2021, as presented. The minutes were circulated to the attendees prior to the meeting. The minutes were accepted as presented.

4. Introduction of Dignitaries

Andrew Confente acknowledged the attendance of several dignitaries at the meeting including Regional Bencher, Andrew Spurgeon; OTLA Past President & FOLA Central South Regional Representative, Allen Wynperle; Hamilton Law Association Past Presidents Mark Giavedoni, Allen Wynperle, Andrew Spurgeon, Kristen Hughes, David Sherman, Robert Hooper, and Patric Mackesy. He also acknowledged Life Members, as well as Ed Orzel Award and Aemilius Irving Award recipients in attendance.

5. President's Remarks

Andrew Confente recognized and thanked the following members of the Board of Trustees for the 2021-2022 term: Justice Kathleen Bingham, Li Cheng, Jennifer Cooper, Kanata Cowan- *Past President*, Laura Dickson, Mary Grosso, Hussein Hamdani- *Secretary Treasurer*, Andrew Keesmaat, Paul Lawson, Eric Nanayakkara, David van der Woerd- *Vice President*, and Colleen Yamashita.

Andrew Confente referred the attendees to the 2021 Annual Report, which was provided electronically to the attendees prior to the meeting. It was noted that the previous year was a busy year for the Association, and that the reports of the various Hamilton Law Association Subcommittees, the Strategic Action Plan Update, and 2021 HLA Seminar flyers can be found in the Annual Report.

Andrew Confente thanked the Executive Director, Rebecca Bentham and all the HLA staff Shega Berisha, Kubra Solmaz, Wendy Spearing, Nicole Strandholm, and Stephanie Zordan for their work in the 2021 year.

Andrew Confente thanked Kanata Cowan for her service on the board as Past President, and welcomed David van der Woerd as the incoming President.

6. Motion to Ratify all Acts by the Board of Trustees

Andrew Confente called for a motion to ratify all acts by the Board of Trustees from the previous year. James Orme moved, and Andrew Keesmaat seconded the motion. Motion carried.

7. Treasurer's Report and Financial Statements for 2022 & Appointment of Auditors

David van der Woerd referred to the year-end financial statements contained in the Annual Report and noted to those in attendance the key financial highlights found there. He also noted that the 2021 audited financial statements of The Hamilton Law Association are contained in the Annual Report. The Annual Report was circulated to the attendees prior to the meeting.

David van der Woerd moved, and Kirsten Hughes seconded, that the financial statement for the year ending December 31, 2021, be accepted as presented. Motion carried.

David van der Woerd moved, and Eric Nanayakkara seconded, that the firm of Taylor, Leibow LLP be appointed as Auditors for The Hamilton Law Association for the year ending December 31st, 2022, and that the Trustees be and are hereby authorized to fix their remuneration. Motion carried.

8. Report of the Nominating Committee

Andrew Confente presented the report of the Nominating Committee on behalf of Kanata Cowan, Past President and Nominating Committee Chair:

Nominees for Officers of the Executive Committee are:

President – David van der Woerd Vice-President – Hussein Hamdani Secretary-Treasurer – Andrew Keesmaat

Nominees for Trustees are:

Mary Grosso (for a second three-year term) Andrea Hill (for a first three-year term) Larissa Bazoian (for a first three-year term)

Returning Trustees are:

Andrew Confente (Past-President)

Li Cheng

Jennifer Cooper

Laura Dickson

Paul Lawson

Eric Nanayakkara

Colleen Yamashita

Andrew Confente called for a motion to acclaim the nominees above. Andrew Confente moved, and Andrew Keesmaat seconded the motion. Motion carried.

There being no other nominees in accordance with the requirements of By-Law 1-2014 dated the 23rd day of April 2014, the above-noted Officers and Trustees were acclaimed.

9. President's Closing Remarks

David van der Woerd thanked Andew Confente for serving as President and acknowledged that Kanata Cowan and Madam Justice Bingham will be leaving the Board of Trustees. David van der Woerd congratulated Andrea Hill and Lacey Bazoian for joining the Board of Trustees and to Mary Grosso for her acclamation for a second three-year term.

David van der Woerd commended all The Hamilton Law Association Committee Chairs and Vice-Chairs for their work over the past year and referred the attendees to the Annual Report for all committee reports.

David van der Woerd thanked Wendy Spearing for her hard work as the Financial Manager of the Association and congratulated her on her upcoming retirement. He thanked Rebecca Bentham, the Executive Director for being paramount in the success of the Association. David van der Woerd thanked the members and dignitaries for their support over the years. The meeting was adjourned.