The Hamilton Law Association

New Lawyers' Subcommittee


Andrew Keesmaat, Co-Chair; Mark Daly, Co-Chair

New Lawyers' Subcommittee Mandate

The Hamilton Law Association's New Lawyers' Subcommittee is a subcommittee of the Board of Trustees and comprises lawyers called five years and less.

Their mandate is to promote the active involvement of new lawyers within The Hamilton Law Association and the Hamilton Community at large, including facilitating participation of new lawyers in networking opportunities, practice management, volunteer opportunities, and the New Lawyers' Seminar and Welcome Dinner.

Young Lawyer Mentors Available

Are you currently a law student or articling student?

Members of the Hamilton Law Association's New Lawyers' Subcommittee are available to speak with you regarding articling and working in Hamilton. For more information, please contact the HLA at 905-522-1563.

For common questions regarding the program, please see our mandate and FAQ page here.

2023-2024 Committee Members

Co-Chair: Andrew Keesmaat, Agro Zaffiro LLP 905-527-6877
Co-Chair: Mark Daly, Nolan, Ciarlo LLP 905-522-9261        
Braden Adsett, Lamont Law           905-529-6668                                   
Ally Buchanan, Agro Zaffiro LLP    905-527-6877                                              
Sarah Gulas, Hughes + Cooper LLP 905-523-5252                                          
Drew Hall, SimpsonWigle LLP                                     905-528-8411
Sophie Jackson, George Street Law Group  905-526-2111                                             
Taylor Johnson, Szpiech, Ellis, Skibinski, Shipton LLP 905-524-2454                 
Greta Ladanyi, Ross & McBride LLP 905-526-9800
Effie Lin, Agro Zaffiro LLP 905-527-6877
Luke McIvor, Blaze IP 905-572-9300
Chris Merrilees, George Street Law Group  905-526-2111
Ekene Okwumo                                                                    N/A
Alexandra Petermann, Ross & McBride LLP 905-526-9800
Rachel Prestayko, Kennaley Construction Law               N/A
Jarrett Putt, Ross & McBride LLP 905-526-9800
Lawin Salah, Scarfone Hawkins LLP 905-523-1333
Steven Singh, Regency Law 905-383-0500

To speak to an HLA staff person regarding the New Lawyers' Subcommittee, please contact us at: 905-522-1563, or by email:

The Hamilton Law Association 

45 Main Street East, Suite 500Hamilton, ON L8N 2B7

Tel:(905) 522-1563 

Fax: (905) 572-1188

Webmaster: Nicole Strandholm

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software